Skip to main content

Academic Decathlon

Recently at lausd academic decathlon

As the 2021-22 LAUSD Academic Decathlon comes to a conclusion, we would like to congratulate all the students who participated. Your dedication to this program during uncertain times never wavered, and because of you, our program continues to be successful.

Congratulations to our winning school Grover Cleveland Charter High School, for not only being the Top-Scoring Team, but also having the Top-Scoring Individual, Carol Fares. Grover Cleveland Charter High School and 10 other schools will now prepare for the California Academic Decathlon at the end of March.

Below are a few of this year’s winners. For a full list of winners see our 41st Annual Academic Decathlon Program or watch our Awards Program Video.

                                                       41st Award Cover                                                                     41st Award Video Cover                                                     LAUSD Press Release
                       41st Annual Academic Decathlon Program               41st Annual Academic Decathlon Award Video       LAUSD Press Release


2021-22 LAUSD Academic Decathlon Top-Scoring Team 

Grover Cleveland Charter High School  

(Coaches: Danielle Taklender, Principal: Cindy Duong) 


District-Wide Top-Scoring Individual  

Carol Fares

(Grover Cleveland Charter Charter High School) 


California Academic Decathlon (CAD) Invited Teams 


Grover Cleveland Charter High School 

(Coaches: Danielle Taklender, Principal: Cindy Duong) 

Van Nuys High School 

(Coach: Jonathan Mitchell, Principal: Lourdes De Santiago-Ramirez) 

Bell High School 

(Coaches: Heather Wilson & Matthew Moreno, Principal: Felipe Barragan) 

Sherman Oaks Center for Enriched Studies 

(Coach: Suzanna Gordon, Principal: Susan Parker) 

Valley Academy of Arts & Sciences

(Coach: Maria Guerra, Principal: Kelly Hanock) 

John Marshall High School

(Coach: Daniel Badiak, Principal: Gary Garcia) 

Dr. Vladovic Harbor Teacher Prep Academy

(Coach: Felisa Isakson, Principal: Raymond Aubele) 

Garfield High School

(Coach: Lucille Romero, Principal: Andres Favela) 

Lincoln High School

(Coach: Winnie Kwan, Principal: Rose Anne Ruiz) 

Westchester Enriched Sciences Magnets

(Coach: Patricia Prokopidis, Principal: Teri Grinner) 

Gardena High School

(Coach: Elmer Membreno, Principal: Frank Davies) 


Larry McCormick Memorial Award  

Clare Buchanan

(Verdugo Hills High School, Coaches: Evae Silva, Principal: Arturo Barcenas) 

Momoko Nakazawa  

(John Marshall High School, Coaches: Daniel Badiak, Principal: Gary Garcia) 


Al Perez Memorial Award  


Phineas Banning High School  

(Coach: Michael Richter, Principal: Rudy Mendoza) 


Dr. Robert Peterson Most Improved Team Award  


Gardena High School  

(Coach: Elmer Membreno, Principal: Frank Davies) 


Coach of the Year 


Coach: Felisa Isakson and Albert Lam

(Dr. Vladovic Harbor Teacher Prep Academy, Principal: Raymond Aubele) 

Coach: Catherine Figuracion

(San Pedro High School, Principal: Steven Gebhart)

Coach: Scott Craig

(Sylmar High School, Principal: Rodney Wright)

Coach: Danielle Taklender

(Cleveland Charter High School, Principal: Cindy Duong)


Administrators of the Year 


Assistant Principal: Dolores Gonzalez

(San Pedro High School) 

interested in joining

It is never too early to enter the 2022-2023 Academic Decathlon as the Interest to Participate form is now available for schools to join next year’s competition.

Next year’s topic was announced as The American Revolution and The New Nation. Signing up early allows schools to plan ahead their budgeting for instructional materials and staffing, recruit students and coaches, as well as determine meeting times.

For students and parents who would like to sign up for the Academic Decathlon team at your school, please fill out the Student Sign-Up Form.

2022-23 KEY DATES





October 3, 2022

Effective Study Skills & Time Management Workshop


November 5, 2022

Round 1 Scrimmage at Local District Locations


December 3, 2022

Round 1 Speech & Interview Workshop


January 13, 2023

Round 2 LAUSD Regional Online Essay


January, 28, 2023

Round 2 LAUSD Regional Competition - Online Objective Tests


February 4, 2023

Round 2 *LAUSD Regional Competition - Speech, Interview, and Super Quiz


February (TBD)

Round 2 LAUSD Awards Ceremony


March 24 - 26, 2023

Round 3 CA State Competition - Speech, Interview, and Super Quiz


April 27 - 29, 2023

Round 4 USAD National Competition (Frisco, Texas)





Dr. Neena Agnihotri | Academic Decathlon/Pentathlon Coordinator | Beyond the Bell | LAUSD | 213-241-7900